Top National Tennis Returns To Eastbourne

Saturday 9th July 2016

eastbourne buzz news - Devonshire park

The country’s top county players will come together on the grass courts of Eastbourne’s Devonshire Park next week to compete in Group One Event of the Aegon Summer County Cup Event from Monday 18 to Friday 22 July.

Six men’s and six women’s teams will compete on some of the best grass courts in the country with, the pride of representing their county at stake, in the traditional and atmospheric setting of the seaside tennis venue. First played in 1895, ‘County Week’, as it is more fondly known, is one of the oldest tennis tournaments on the domestic calendar and this year will see 44 counties competing in the doubles-only tournament. There will be 7 groups in total, taking place at 13 venues across the country. 

Eastbourne will host Group One, the premier level of the competition which will see the likes of Joe Salisbury (Surrey), Ed Corrie (Hertfordshire), Josh Milton (South Wales) and Jasmine Asghar & Melanie South (Surrey) all provisionally nominated to represent their counties.

LTA Tournament Director Julie Piper said, “I am once again very excited to be returning to Eastbourne to bring this top class event back to the fantastic courts at Devonshire Park. The players all feel a great sense of pride representing their county and the crowds really get behind them. There is always a great atmosphere which is part of what makes this event so special in the British tennis calendar and with the introduction of the County Cup Race last year, all competing counties will be aiming to gain valuable points to add to their current tally to see who, at the end of the year, are overall county Champions.”

Piper went on to say, “I’m also excited to confirm that the Davis Cup Trophy will be on-site at Devonshire Park on Tuesday 19 July and this will give members of the public the opportunity of seeing this magnificent trophy, which is over 100 years old, in close proximity”.

In the men’s competition, the following counties will be represented:

  • Surrey
  • Hertfordshire
  • Derbyshire
  • Kent
  • South Wales
  • Essex

The women’s event will feature teams from:

  • Buckinghamshire
  • Norfolk
  • Surrey
  • Warwickshire
  • Lancashire
  • Kent

Last year in the men’s event, Essex and South Wales were promoted back to Group 1 and on the ladies’ side, Kent and Norfolk also gained promotion. Norfolk Ladies’ are playing in the Group One Event for the first time since 1992 and, Team Captain Lucy Brook said; “We are so excited to be back playing in Eastbourne – it’s been 24 years since Norfolk ladies have been in Group 1 and, as captain, I have been striving towards this for around 20 years.   One of our players, Anna Linton (nee Davis), played the last time we were in Eastbourne and is in the team again this year......!”

Derbyshire men and Surrey ladies are the defending champions.

Weather permitting; play starts no later than 10.30am each day and entry is free for all. 


1   2   3   4   5       Next

Warning: mysqli_fetch_array() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, boolean given in /home/eastbournebuzzco/public_html/core/functions/menus.php on line 350

Thursday 1st Jan 1970
Weather Forecast

Tide Times